Wrote new blog…will be up soon…hope

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Tom
    December 8, 2011 at 3:33 am

    Amen to your wise and thoughtful remarks. It’s never an either-or. There should be plenty of room in a parent-child relationship for both the cuddle, the personal attention and instruction and play, and for Teddy Ruxbin (or today’s other equivalents). Kids do need their toys and devices to “master” on their own, to help develop their skills and imaginations. If you’ve ever seen a little girl talking to and creating dialogue and situations with a Barbie (or any other doll), you know there’s a lot more going on than just idle time for a kid alone.

    E-readers. You may be encouraged by this: I’ve seen a couple of stories reporting that a large number of e-books being downloaded are free classics. Personal anecdote: about 20 or 25 years ago I bought a Penguin classic edition of Victor Hugo’s novel, NOTRE DAME. I never cracked it open, never lugged its 1,000 pages around with me to dip into whenever I had a few free moments during the day. Now, I downloaded it for free, it’s on my Nook, and I actually am working my way into it. Bound paper books are still the best, and my personal favorite, but it’s not either-or, it’s about making the best use of everything out there.

    Thanks for creating this blog and promoting interesting discourse. Continuez, s’il vous plait!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

